Wobble-Off 2011

Some of the brightest ideas to come from the minds of aspiring engineers were on display Thursday, Dec. 8 when George Fox University’s engineering program hosted its annual engine competition. The event featured the projects freshman students have built as part of their engineering major.

The eighth annual “Wobble-Off” competition featured a variety of oscillating steam/air-operated engines. The event was the culmination of the students’ first-year studies in engineering design, solid modeling and machining. The engines competed in a variety of categories, including maximum speed, minimum vibration, maximum coast, cost efficiency and creativity/craftsmanship.

Here are the results from the 2011 competition:

Creativity and Craftsmanship (Best in Show)
Grand Prize: Nathaniel Dykstra and Josiah Sweeney, Allison Moss
Runner-Up: Joe Truitt, Matt Woertink, Ben Morse & Silas Lortz, Dylan Yamamoto and Ryan Schoellkkopf

Maximum Speed
First Place: Greg Morrison
Runner-Up: Jordan Kelsch
Honorable Mention: Dan Robert, Aaron Molstad, James Hines

Maximum Coast
First Place: Elisha Marshall
Runner-Up: Carl Olson

Cost Efficiency
First Place: John Gaffrey
Runner-Up: Dan Roberts

Minimum Vibration

First Place: Joe Truitt
Runner-Up: Steven Miller and Brooke Molloy

Minimum Pressure

First Place: David Munoz
Runner-Up: Carl Olson, Josh Wiens

3 thoughts on “Wobble-Off 2011

  1. Allison, We are so excited for you. All your hard work, dedication, and drive to learn new things showed in your end result. Congratulations on “Best of Show” Love Mom and Dad 🙂

Comments are closed.